krotaround.blogg.se

Is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal
Is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal







is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal

This may have fitted the average American guy at the turn of the century, but if you are over six feet tall, you are going to find the gun to be a very, very poor fit. I am a pretty good sized guy and was having real problems getting used to the absurdly short and low stock. There were a lot of trigger problems with the single trigger. Many of my quail shooting buddies bought the 28s and a few also laid in some 20s. (By the way, all my 28 gauge chokes were on the tight side, not open as you have heard of the 20s.) I sent it back again and they opened the choke and regulated it for me.

IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL FULL

The full choke was still chromed, thus never cut. Parker Repros chrome the barrels before cutting the chokes, so that you can easily modify the choke area. 040″ of choke! I know that it was supposed to be Full choke, but in a 28 gauge that would equal about. I tested for this and found that the left barrel of the 28″ barrel set threw its pattern very far off center. Then one of my internet readers mentioned that his Parker Repro had misaligned barrels. Courteous treatment and gun was returned repaired. This cured the doubling for an entire year. Since Reagent Chemical was handling the repairs and was only a modest drive away, I took it there and they courteously sent if off for repairs.

is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal

I mean, here was this absolutely gorgeous gun and I owned it! Wow! I was rooting a furrow right through hog heaven. I used to put that open case on my desk and just stare at the gun. I added a rosewood and brass cleaning rod in the little slots provided in the case and also a chrome square oil bottle in the space provided for that. It came with chrome snap caps fitted into the leather case. The gun was simply extraordinarily beautiful- a little bon-bon of the first order. I got mine from Cape and it had some of the best wood that I have seen on a shotgun. When Jaqua’s, GU and Cape bought out his remaining 5,000 guns and lowered the price so much, I jumped in and bought a 28 gauge two barrel set with English grip, splinter forend and single trigger. When Tom Skeuse at Reagent Chemical, Brunswick, NJ first introduced the little Parker Repros, I thought that they were neat guns, but a bit pricey for a boutique item. The gun most definitely gets mixed reviews.

is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal

Well, the Wizard of OZ got away with it until that stupid little dog pulled the curtain away, I might have a bit more time left before being discovered.Īs to the Parker Repro, consider selling the farm, but keep the diamond mine. The only problem with a fawning public is that it gets then down to the level where they might notice some feet of clay. My grouse gun may remain a 12, as grouse in public lands is very often like pheasant in the woods, at a bit of range.Īh, nothing nicer than a fawning public. The bores on these guns seem to go WAY open from what they are marked, though the choking seems very well done indeed. To be short, how about considering a Report report on the gun, and on the wisdom of trying to score with what’s left of the Repros? By the way, the 20-bores remaining have 26″ barrels(!) and single triggers, in addition to the mismatch of grip and forearm. One of you folks is a known and habitual user of a Parker repro, I understand. One of somebody’s recent pontifications (keep ’em coming–love them all!) made a quick and undeveloped comment on the 28-gauge Parker.

is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal

Now the few remaining come in pistol-grip mode with splinter forearms (shot a friend’s and that combination seemed distinctly awkward). I shoot a friend’s 12-bore very well, but the arthritis seems to predict a light side- by-side in the near future.įool that I am, I didn’t get a 28″ straight-grip with double triggers when the things were available. I’m currently thinking of mortgaging the farm and selling the diamond mine for one of the last Parker Repros.









Is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal